Welcome to Freeworld Publications

African Aviation Series
Contact Us / Order form
01 AT-6 Harvard
02 The Eagles of Zwartkop
03 Canberra
04 Eye in the Sky
05 African Air Forces
06 Chopper Pilot
07 Passion for Flight
08 2 Squadron in Korea
09 Rhodesian Air Force
10 Serve to Save
11 Springbok Fighter Victory 1
12 The men who went to Warsaw
13 85 Years of the SAAF
14 Sweeping circles in the sky
15 Douglas C-47 Dakota in SAAF
16 Helicopters of the SAAF
17 17 Squadron
18 Zero Error Margin
20 Springbok Fighter Victory 2
22 Silver Falcons - 40 Years
23 Cheetah
24 Springbok Fighter Victory 3
25 Springbok Fighter Victory 4
26 Springbok Fighter Victory 5

African Aviation Series No. 23
CHEETAH - Guardians of the Nation
Winston Brent
ISBN 9780980279719


In 1981 the SAAF produced a Staff Requirement to replace the Mirage IIIs and F1s. From this requirement the Cheetah was born. The author covers the initial development of this Project, right through to the arrival of the Cheetah C. This book was published to coincide with the final withdrawal of all the Cheetahs on 2 April 2008. It is A4 with 194 pages and plenty of Colour and B & W photographs. For the modeller there are 5 pages of side drawings. It is available in Hard cover and Soft cover. The Hard cover is a limited edition of 200 numbered copies, with the first numbers 1 80 being allocated to the first members who qualified on Cheetahs.